Parts of the ear (1586)

Key points below

Diagram of an ear

The ear has 3 parts:

Outer Ear

This part of the ear includes the pinna. It is the part of the ear you can see. It also includes the ear canal. Sound goes through the ear canal and vibrates the eardrum. The eardrum is also called the tympanic membrane.

Middle Ear

This part of the ear is between the eardrum and the inner ear. The middle ear has three small bones. When the eardrum vibrates, it causes the bones to move. There is also a tube called the Eustachian tube. It goes from the middle ear to the back of the throat. This tube keeps normal pressure in the ear.

Inner Ear

The inner ear includes: cochlea: the organ of hearing vestibular system: The area that helps with balance. auditory nerve: The nerve that sends sound to the brain. Sound vibrations enter the inner ear. Then the cochlea sends signals to the brain through the auditory nerve. Once the signals reach the brain, they are understood as sound.

For more health and wellness information check out this resource: