Car seat loan program at CHW-Milwaukee (1855)

Key points below


(For kids with a Hip Spica Cast or Hip Abduction Brace)

Why does my child need a special car seat or vest?

State law in Wisconsin says everyone must use seat belts, a car seat or booster seat while riding in a motor vehicle.
After surgery, your child may not fit in their regular seat with the cast on. For your child’s safety, you may borrow a special car seat or vest from Children’s Wisconsin (CW).
There is no charge unless the seat or vest is not returned.
If using a vest, your child must lay on a bench seat in the car. There may not be room for anyone else on that seat. The vest does not work with bucket or split seats. If your child is going home with a vest and you do not have a bench seat in your car, you may need to ask family or friends for help with transportation.

How does the loan program work?

A car seat educator will meet with you during your hospital stay to:
Talk about possible seat or vest options.
Show you how to fit your child into the loaner seat or vest.
Fill out a loan agreement.
Explain how and when to return the seat or vest.
Seats or vests are loaned out for 6 weeks from the date of your signed agreement. If you need it longer you must call (414) 231-4861 to leave a message for an extension. Be sure to call before the end of the 6 weeks.
You will get a car seat safety teaching sheet.  You will also get an instruction manual.
It is best to have the seat or vest installed at the Children’s car seat clinic. You can call to make an appointment.  Call Central Scheduling at (414) 607-5280.
After discharge from the hospital, staff will call you and send reminders to return the seat or vest. You will be asked to return the seat or vest when your child’s cast is removed.  This will keep you from being charged for the full cost of the seat.

How do I care for the seat or vest?

Please take good care of the seat or vest, so other families can use it.
Do not smoke in your vehicle with the seat or vest.
Do not let your child eat sticky foods in the seat or with the vest on.
Do not use home cleaners on the seat or vest.
Shake out any crumbs from the seat before returning it.
Upon return, let us know if the seat or vest was involved in a motor vehicle crash. The seat may not be safe to use after a car crash.

How do I return the seat or vest?

Return the seat when you come for your child’s cast removal.  Seats need to be returned at:
CHW Daniel M. Soref Family Resource Center
The Resource Center is across from the gift shop in the main lobby of Children’s. 9000 West Wisconsin Ave.
Wauwatosa, WI 53226
(414) 266-3169

Hours:
Monday through Friday: 9 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. 
Saturday: 10:00 a.m. to 2 p.m.   9:30 a.m. to 3 p.m.
Valet or Welcome Desk staff cannot take the seat or vest for you. There are wheelchairs and wagons at the main entrance of the hospital. They should be on your left when you come through the main doors.
When you return the seat to the Resource Center, staff will:
Check to be sure that all parts are returned. This includes the Hip Spica Cast Seat wedge or extremity belt with the vest.
Ask you to fill out and sign a receipt.  You will get a copy of the receipt.
Remember to bring your regular car seat with you the day of your cast removal. You will need it for your child’s ride home!

What happens if the seat is not returned?

You will be charged for the full cost of the seat or vest.
The Hip Spica Cast car seats cost $400.00; the vests cost $200.00.

ALERT

Call the injury prevention coordinator at (414) 231-4861 if you have any concerns regarding this car seat. Call your child’s doctor, nurse, or clinic if you have any other concerns or if your child has special health care needs not covered by this information.